University of Mumbai is one of the oldest and premier universities in India. Started in the year 1857, it is one among the first three universities in India. It has two campuses, fort campus of 14 acres and Kalina campus of 243 acres, sub‐campuses/centers at Ratnagiri 20 acres, Thane 6.50 acres and Kalyan 6.26 acres respectively. Overall, University has 60 Departments & Institutes and 749 affiliated colleges.

The University has always given its best to the country in general and to the city of Mumbai in particular by enthusiastically shouldering an ever‐growing load of social values and opportunities. It has established its name in industrial & International collaborations and runs various professional courses.

The University and its teachers have the credit of publishing large number of research papers in National & International Journals. Twelve Department/sections are recognized under various national programmes, such
as SAP/CAS/DRS/DSA/COSIST/FIST. Many University teachers are on various professional bodies and have won National /International awards.